photography, design, painting blog

We are free…


Wow is all I can say about church service today. Alanna Story, a Christian duo, sang some songs at our church and it felt like they were singing it to me. It felt like they were talking to me. Cause of a love that can cripple the strong man, sacrifices the cradle the broken, awakens my soul from sleep. Now I normally don’t like Christian music. It all sounds the same to me which some people will say about country and while that’s true as well it’s what I grew up listening to. So I was mildly surprised to find myself liking this song and these two women’s music. They remind me of Serena Ryder with that deep kind of husky voice. I’ve been feeling pulled towards God more lately. Like He wants more out of me than being the typical label of a Christian. More than going to church and attending small group. More than being just nice and personable. And after hearing these girls speak and sing today along with our pastor’s message I feel more like I’m heading in the right direction. I want a stronger relationship with Jesus, a more personal relationship. I want to hear verses in my head and hear Him speak to me. And I want to know what He wants me to do and I want to do it! I’ve always been too afraid to open my heart enough to hear Him calling because I’ve always been afraid I wouldn’t be strong enough to do His bidding. But I can do all things through Christ and He will never give us more than we can handle.

So anyways Kenny found this locust coming out of his shell yesterday and I thought it would be a good picture to go along with this blog post….we are free.

2 responses

  1. Vee

    I know that this was written months ago, but it brought tears to my eyes because this is where I am now. Only, I’ve experienced this closeness and I get frustrated for allowing myself to get so busy that I sometimes miss those little nudges. Isn’t it great that He still loves us and longs for our love. I love your blog name, Whitehorsedesigns, even that reminds me of our precious Saviour!

    October 18, 2011 at 12:17 am

  2. whitehorsedesigns

    Thank you for reading my post and I’m glad it touched your heart. Our pastor was again talking about this this past Sunday and here are a couple of verses that made me feel better about taking this step forward…Psalm 25: 4 – 7. Show me thy ways, O Lord; teach me thy paths. Lead me in thy truth, and teach me: for thou art the God of my salvation; on thee do I wait all the day. Remember, O Lord, thy tender mercies and they loving kindnessess; for they have been ever of old. Remember not the sins of my youth, nor my transgressions; according to thy mercy remember thou me for thy goodness’ sake, O Lord. And especially this one because this is saying that He gives us the strength to do what He asks us to do. Luke 12: 11-12. And when they bring you unto the synagogues, and unto magistrates, and powers, take ye no thought how or what thing ye shall answer, or what ye shall say: For the Holy Ghost shall teach you in the same hour what ye ought to say. Anyways….I wanted to post this so I wouldn’t forget it =)

    October 18, 2011 at 10:56 am

Leave a Reply

