photography, design, painting blog

My Do It Yourself Projects


I have two projects I’m working on and I’m sooooo excited! The first one is a wooden horse wall decoration. I started with a simpler design of my logo horse and I was having trouble with the design because it didn’t flow the way I wanted it to. So my husband asked me why I didn’t just stick with the original design….well I didn’t know he could cut the wood in such an intricate design! So he took his amazing wood cutting powers and cut this horse out for me and the top piece. I used his Dremel to soften the edges of the top piece and have been staining it light cherry the last couple of days. I tested the stain on scrap pieces of wood to try to match it to my bedroom suite. But for some odd reason it’s not matching up like it was on the scrap piece. So I don’t know if I should stain it with another dark stain on top of the light cherry or what. I’m also contemplating painting the mane, tail, and hooves black or staining them the same color as the top piece. But here is what it looks like so far.

My other project is a storage ottoman. I’ve been wanting one for our living room so bad but I haven’t found one in the right color to match our furniture or in a decent price range. They’re all so expensive. So I decided we would build one. We bought the plywood at Menards the other night and I went to Joann’s Fabric the other day and bought some clearance material. So I’m hoping when it’s built and I put this fabric on it I will like it. Here is a link to the plans http://sabbespot.blogspot.com/2010/08/diy-storage-ottoman-phase-1.html except I changed the dimensions on it a little bit because I don’t want to go buy another piece of plywood from Menards and I wanted mine deeper. I’m still trying to find some furniture bun feet that are about an inch tall and are rectangular or square.

And here are my plans…my numbers are in big brown font. If there isn’t a change then I’m keeping it the same. 🙂

Leave a Reply

