photography, design, painting blog

Winter Ice Storm 2011


Well we had quite the ice storm here in Nashville.  I kind of wish we had gotten the 6-12 inches of snow instead of the ice but the ice coating the trees did make it look really pretty out.  We lost power for about 40 hours.  My husband and his dad had just installed our gas fireplace the weekend before we lost power so I think we ended up pretty lucky.  We have a huge living room and we just closed it off with a blanket, drug our bed in there, and turned up the gas!  It was sort of fun the first night but the 2nd night we had 2 power surges that left us disappointed and hoping that the power would come back on but it didn’t.  The living room smelled like an aromatherapy store lol with all of the candles we had burning.  It wasn’t as fun with a baby though.  I think he sensed our boredom and was bored as well.  So I don’t think we would make it as Amish people.  Got to have our electronics!

I think I’m pretty well sold on the Verizon MIFI thingy though because even through the wind and awful storm we were getting I still had internet so long as the MIFI battery and my computer’s battery worked 🙂

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Leave a Reply

