photography, design, painting blog

Free Pattern Crochet Diaper Cover


I made this pattern up after crocheting a free pattern hat I found on lionbrand.com (http://www.lionbrand.com/patterns/60422.html?noImages=0&r=1) I wanted a diaper cover to match.  I put this on my 4 month old and it was a tad bit big for him so you might size the pattern down if you have a smaller baby.  But I don’t see too many patterns out there for bigger babies so I thought this might be nice.  But I’ve been working on a lot of patterns here lately.  I think I may start selling some of them :)

Using 1 strand each of A, B, C, and D held together, ch 12.
Row 1: Sc in 2nd ch from hook and every ch across – 11 sc.
Row 2 – 12: Ch 1, turn, sc in first sc, (ch 1, sk 1 sc, sc in next sc) across – 6 ch-1 sp.
Row 13: Ch 1, turn, sc in first sc, (ch 1, sc in next 2) across, sc in last sc – 12
Row 14 – 16 : Ch 1, turn, sc in first sc, (ch 1, sk 1 sc, sc in next sc) across – 8 ch-1 sp.
Row 17: Ch 1, turn, sc in first sc, (ch 1, sc in next 2) across, ch 1, sc in last – 14
Row 18 & 19: Ch 1, turn, sc in first sc, (ch 1, sk 1 sc, sc in next sc) across –  12
Using 1 strand each of A, B, C, and D held together, ch 40.
Row 1: Sc in 2nd chain from hook and every ch across – 39
Row 2: Ch 1, turn, sc in first sc, ( ch 1, sk 1 sc, sc in next) across – 20
Sew two pieces together and sew a button on each end.

I also have a pattern here for sale. It’s 4.99 so pretty cheap! And it’s a long tailed hat and diaper cover for a newborn :) Enjoy! buy now

Here’s another pattern I have for sale. It’s 5.99 for 3 patterns. Long tailed hat, tassel hat, and diaper cover for newborn! buy now

7 responses

  1. raznoggle

    Just wondering what sized hook you used for this pattern. Thanks!

    February 22, 2011 at 3:41 pm

    • whitehorsedesigns

      It didn’t have a size on it. But at Walmart in the crochet section they have a package with 2 big plastic hooks in it and it was the smaller white plastic hook. Sorry I couldn’t be more helpful!

      February 22, 2011 at 4:25 pm

      • Lucy

        It would be the P size hook i just bought those and it comes with P and Q size hooks

        March 18, 2011 at 5:02 pm

  2. Haley

    I was wondering… If I wanted to make this for my 18mo. son (24-25lbs), do you recommend a certain amount of extra everything in the pattern or do you only have the one size that you make? Thanks!

    June 2, 2011 at 6:47 pm

    • Haley

      I also have a new baby due any day now, so do you also have rec. for a smaller soaker?

      June 2, 2011 at 7:03 pm

      • whitehorsedesigns

        I do actually…I’ve been making them and selling them on etsy. Are you having a boy or girl?

        June 3, 2011 at 9:10 am

    • whitehorsedesigns

      I only have one size that I made. But I used a diaper as a comparison. It was a pretty big pattern. So I imagine if you added a couple more rows in the 2-12 section and made the add on top piece a little longer and maybe a row wider it would probably fit. Thanks!

      June 3, 2011 at 9:09 am

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.